Quick Links

Jun 24, 2012

ELT Writing Contest Award Ceremony

On March 10, the English Department held the award ceremony for the winners of the annual Writing Contest. For the first time the contest featured three categories: Non-Fiction, Short Stories, and Poetry. Competition was stiff among the numerous entries submitted by the department's students, many of whom show considerable literary talent. In the end the winners chosen were:


1st - Amila Hadžibajrić, “Bosnia”

2nd - Edin Ajdinović, “Technocracy”

3rd - Selma Salihagić, “Cultural Differences”

4th - Yusuf Turker, “Briefcase”

5th - Kadir Demir, “Similarities Between Bosnia and Turkey”

Short Stories

1st - Mahir Kevrić, “Unnamed War Story”

2nd -Zeynep Aydin, “Just a Moment”

3rd -Sule Bildir, “To Be There”


1st - Eldin Milak, “A Dream”

2nd - Seher Kose, “Snow”

3rd -Zeynep Aydin, “Death After Three Minutes”

The winners were awarded prizes, monetary and otherwise by Asst.Prof.Dr. Azamat Akbarov, Asst.Prof.Dr. John Dayton, Res.Asst. Alpaslan Toker, Res.Asst. Harun Bastug and also received much applause from the assembled students. Congratulations to the winners and all who took part in this rewarding competition.